Overview: User Management

HOW TO

How to access the User Management page

Navigate to Account > User Management to access the User Management page. Click the green + New User button to add a New User to your Databox Account.

How to add a new User

A
  Name: Enter the name of the new user.
B
  Email: Enter the email address of the new user. This will be the email address they use to log in to the Databox Account.
C
  Photo: Add a photo for the new user you're adding to Databox. This is an optional step when adding a new user. 
D
  Set Password: By clicking on the Set password hyperlink, you can create a personalized password for the new user. This is an optional step when adding a new user. 
E
  User Role: Select the user role for the new user. The user role will determine the access and permission levels of the new user in Databox. Learn more about User Roles here

After clicking the green Invite User button, the new user will receive an email invitation with their password and a verification link. After verifying their information, they will be able to log in to the Databox Account. 

When adding a new user, only their role can be selected. Each new user gets access to all public Databoards in that space, but only Administrators get default access to Client Accounts.

How User Roles are defined

There are 4 User Types that you can select when adding a new contact in Databox, each with specific access and permission levels.

  • Administrator: Administrators have full access to the Databox Account. They have the ability to add and manage users, as well the ability to access and edit all Data Source connections and Databoards in the Account. 
  • Only Administrators can invite and approve new users to the Databox Account. Editors are able to invite new users to the account as well, but invited users will need to be approved by an admin before receiving an email invitation that includes their access credentials.
  • Editor: Editors can edit and delete all Databoards that they have access to. Databoard access can be limited for Editors by Admins in the Account. Editors can add new users, but they cannot manage users in the Account or edit Data Sources that they did not connect.
  • User: Users can view Databoards that they have access to, but they can only edit and share Databoards that they created. Similarly, they can only view Annotations on Databoards they have access to, and they can only edit Annotations on Databoards that they created. Users can't manage users in the Account or edit Data Sources that they did not connect. 
  • Viewer: Viewers can view Databoards they have access to, but cannot access any other features in your Account.

How to set Account Managers for Client Accounts

Learn how to set Account Managers for Client Accounts here

How to set permissions for a Data Source

Learn how to set permissions for a Data Source here.

How to set permissions for a Databoard

Learn how to set permissions for a Databoard here.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us